Politics Again

September 8, 2012

I GET it is an election year, and everyone wants to get their message heard. I get that we need to be informed. I am just sick of sitting down to eat or watch a favorite show, only to have the phone ring and some recorded voice start droning on about this candidate or that one, and who is lying and who isn’t.

I firmly believe unbiased third party reporters should be the ONLY ones to present the facts about the candidates. Yeah, I know… try finding anyone like that. It sure doesn’t exist in the media today. Everyone has an agenda, and most of those aren’t in the public’s best interests.

I signed the Congressional Reform Act of 2012 Petition. I even emailed letters to DC about it. I seriously doubt they’ll be paid any attention to. While the points set out make a great deal of sense and would benefit the American PEOPLE, they would not benefit the American POLITICIANS.

One of my favorite quotes, especially around election time, comes from the excellent musical “1776”. John Adams has just been called back into the Continental Congress meeting room for a vote. What is the vote on? General Washington wants all members of the New Hampshire militia to wear matching uniforms (so he can tell who belongs to what unit, I would imagine). Instead of just agreeing with his request, the CC has been arguing about it and will now vote. Adams makes the following comment as he reenters the room:

“I’ve discovered that one useless man is called a disgrace, that two are called a law firm, and that three or more become a Congress. And by God! I’ve had this Congress…”

We are, it seems, even worse off today than back before the vote for Independence. Instead of plain speaking and action, we get convoluted jargon and filibusters. Our representatives are no longer of a mind to get to business, and get it done right the first time so they can return home to families and paying jobs; politics have become their job. They have lost touch.

Time to wipe the slate and try again?

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Current Events, politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

