BACK TO SCHOOL

I know a lot of places have been back in session for a week or two already, but our kids went back to classes today. The first day of eighth grade for my girl. She was up on time, no hassles…but too nervous/excited to eat. And just like what used to happen to me, those nerves got to her, and what little she ate didn’t stay with her long. A glass of ginger ale later, and she was ready to go.

I love the fall. I actually did like school, back in the day. I loved the cooler mornings and evenings, while the afternoons were still warm enough to run around in shirtsleeves. I love the colors of the trees in the north country as they prepare for their winter’s sleep. The smell of those leaves on a breeze, the migratory birds heading south, and the frost patterns on the windows in the morning are magic to me even now. There are times I wish I was back in college, settling into my dorm room now, and gearing up for Woodsmen’s Team, WPSA, and hikes up St Regis Mountain. Those were the days!

Of course, this also marks the start of much busier times ahead for the next few months. Our Neighborhood Watch starts back up tonight; there’s a school function next week, and the first dance of the year for the Kidling. PTO and Booster Club, the fall television line up, and Fall Fest at Five Rivers… that’s all just September. And I need to haul out the October decorations and see what needs replacing, and what I want to add to the mix.

The lady who inspired me to start this blog, and directly inspired the second post about saving money on the food bill went shopping the other day, and spent $100 LESS than normal while actually getting MORE food. WAY TO GO, C! And speaking of the ideas we’d come up with for saving money… Wednesday, the Kidling and I ate with Mom… and had wild turkey, provided by the Brother. You couldn’t buy an organic bird that size for less than $40 or $50. I’m not sure what the cost worked out to be with Brother going out and getting it himself. I know he’s already starting to plan this year’s deer season. And the basement freezer is restocked with fish.

So, HAIL FALL! The Oak King’s power is starting to wane, and John Barleycorn has given his sacrifice in the fields. Mother Earth will give forth a final burst of energy before settling her Northern Lands into slumber, so She can focus on the Southern Lands. I’ll dig out my favorite sweaters, start keeping an eye out on the local pumpkin patches, and brew up a large pot of Golden Harvest soup.

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Life, Raising a Girl, Seasons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

