It’s FAIR TIME!

One of the best things about the end of the summer, to me, has always been the Schaghticoke Fair (http://www.schaghticokefair.org/index.php). I love county fairs, period. The Schaghticoke Fair is the third oldest in New York State, and in 48 years, I’ve missed maybe 10. My parents used to take me and my brother when we were young. When I hit my mid-teens, my friends and I used to go together. That lasted until I got married in 1997…since then, it’s been a family thing again. I’m not into the midway so much, although we do tend to wander through it. For me, the main attractions have always been the animals, the displays, the myriad of events…horse riding, cattle judging, wildlife expos, demonstrations, concerts (saw HAIR OF THE DOG there) and the rodeo. Annually, I MUST have: apple cider slushy (no longer available, alas and alack!) candied apple, fried bread dough, steamed clams from Antonio’s, and maple sugar candy( Running Brook Sugar Shack in Hoosick Falls has a great selection of maple syrup, candy, and information http://www.nysmaple.com/buy-local/show-producer?producer=284 ). This year, we discovered a new favorite: ‘DRAGON SCALES AND FAIRY TALES’, a Dreamweaver Productions offering that is interactive and fun for believers of all ages. (http://www.ibelieveinfaeries.com/index.html) If you love dragons, watching the hatching of Harry, who loves chocolate and would rather say “Tada!” instead of “Momma” is a blast of giggles. One little girl just wanted to be close to the dragon. Another, introduced to Harry as “Lunch”, couldn’t scamper away fast enough. At the end, the children can all kiss Harry goodnight and get their picture taken with the dragon. I couldn’t talk the Kidling into going that far….maybe next year!

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Life, Seasons, Traditions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

