A Cashier’s Rant

Usually, I actually like my job. We have a lot of regular customers. Some, I know by name, and they even recognize me away from the store. But of course, you can’t please everyone all of the time. Today was one of those days. It figures, being a holiday weekend. But there are some things to remember from both sides to make things a little easier.

Cashiers:
*PAY ATTENTION TO YOUR CUSTOMERS! They come first, and most of them don’t want to hear you and your bagger talking about who got drunk, who ditched who, etc and so forth.
*It really doesn’t hurt to smile and say hello, and offer extra help.
*Keep in mind some of your customers are older, or have medical problems. BE PATIENT! One of these days, if you’re lucky, you’ll be old too.

Customers:
*Patience is a virtue. That means with us workers, and with other customers. The day is coming when YOU will be old, or not feeling so great, or want to save that extra few dollars.
*If you’re in a hurry and have less than 20 items, do NOT get into a full order lane. If you are in a hurry, why the hell are you doing a full shop in limited time? Don’t take your inability to manage your time out on the rest of us.
*If you think a price is wrong, we will have it checked. Cashiers cannot take the customer’s word for it. But please remember, we may have 15 registers open…and at times only one supervisor to handle all the questions/problems.
*Please READ the signs/fliers. I know it’s a PITA, but it saves time.
*Shopping carts are not jungle gyms. They aren’t designed to be climbed all over. I don’t like blood, I don’t want to waste the time cleaning up after your child if he/she tips it over on top of himself… and I sure as HELL don’t want to see some innocent bystander getting caught. Don’t start glaring at me when I politely ask your child NOT to climb on the cart. If you were doing YOUR job, I wouldn’t have to ask them.

I work in a grocery store. I have seen FIGHTS break out in the check-out lines between supposed adults over stuff CHILDREN wouldn’t argue about. Yes, I talk to my customers. I don’t stop working to do so, I’m not taking time or attention from you to do so. Many of our customers don’t get out much, and enjoy the chance to socialize a little. If you hear us grumbling on occasion, keep in mind we are human. We have feelings that can get hurt, we get angry, we need to vent to someone else who understands… like our coworkers.

I love most of my customers. They are a wide variety of people…veterans, retired school teachers, neighbors, immigrants, serving service men and women, college students, marrieds, widows, divorcées… I don’t mind going the extra to help people who are at least nice about asking. While anyone can have a bad day, the ones who are constantly unpleasant… you don’t want to hear what’s said in the breakroom!

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Good Manners, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Cashier’s Rant

  1. LAMarcom says:

    Right On Annie!
    I go to Kroger’s a lot. Almost everyday in fact. Have even posted about some of my experiences there. Life is slow here in Memphis. I have finally learned to slow down myself. Everyone at Kroger’s is wonderful. I enjoy my time there now that I have gotten into the pace of life in these parts.

    Great post.

Let me know what YOU think

