Allergic to the Modern World

diglycerides
monoglycerides
Polysorbate 60
Sodium Metabisulphite
Sulphurdioxide
Mononitrates
Monosodium glutamate
Disodium phosphate
Disodium inoinate
Disodium guanylate

Looks like a shopping list for chemistry lab, doesn’t it? These are actually all food addatives… and despite being approved by the FDA, I really gotta wonder how safe some of them really are. Especially since whenever I eat something with one or more of them in the mix, I get sick to my stomach, have a migraine, and/or feel unable to focus.
The glycerides only serve to extend shelf life…not because the foods would go off, but because the components would break apart. Heaven help us if we had to stir up the peanut butter before we use it!
Polysorbate 60 is another additive meant to keep food looking good longer. In high doses, it can cause very bad effects on the reproductive system, poison organs and cause cancer. The FDA has ruled it safe for limited use. Fine, if you’re only eating one or two products containing it. But I am seeing this one on more and more labels, so that makes me a bit nervous.
Sodium metabisulfite is definitely not one to buy if your sulfur-sensitive. It causes the same reactions the sulfurs do. I guess I am one of those sulfur-sensitive people, because every time I eat something with some form of sulfite, I end up sick.
The mononitrates are “just” B vitamins, and we all need our vitamins, right? Too bad these are synthetic. Synthetics aren’t always good for the body. If it says mononitrates on the label, I put it back on the shelf. I get enough migraines and heat flashes, thank you very much.
Monosodium glutamate, the old MSG. I know they’ve said MSG isn’t the culprit when it comes to migraines triggered by Chinese-American food. But isn’t it interesting? Where they do NOT use MSGs, I can enjoy my food and not worry about finding a cold, dark room within a half and hour. (This is also why I only ever bought Accent once, and didn’t use the entire container.) And when you’re reading the label and see Disodium inoinate or Disodium guanylate… they are usually used with some form of glutamate, and that glutamate isn’t usually naturally-occurring.
Disodium phosphate is another of those “in certain forms” safe additive. It’s also found in laundry soap and pesticides, so you make your own call on that. I’d just as soon not take the chance.

When I was in grade school, we had TWO students in the entire school with allergies. ONE of those was a food-related problem, the other was dust mites. These days, I can’t think of a single classroom in my daughter’s school without two or more students with some sort of allergy. If not new additives to a food’s make-up, why are some many more affected now? LEAVE OUR FOOD ALONE ALREADY! Doesn’t the human race have enough ways of killing itself off?

About Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann

I am a wife.mother, writer, cashier (hey, it helps pay the bills), Pagan who sometimes thinks too much. A jackie of all trades and mistress of none
This entry was posted in Dietary Concerns, health and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what YOU think

